Why I Blog ………

Why I blog? First and foremost as a resource for my 5 year old son Rory.

Up until he was two and a half years old, I had very few photos of us together. Not being very technical on the computer front, saving photos or backing them up was not on my agenda! So when I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer in 2014, I started taking as many photos as I could of my little boy on all of the adventures we went on. I gradually understood the importance of me actually being in the photos with him regardless of how painful it was to see myself with a bald head and a variety of head scarves and hats. My son knew me as Mummy regardless of what I looked like and that is what I learned to embrace.

My experience of having a life threatening illness taught me the absolute need to make memories for my son should I not be around to see him grow up. Putting photos up on Facebook for family and friends to see was the obvious storage choice for me but I realised I needed some kind of order to our enormous  photo collection.

My other passion in life is to promote Single Parenting in a positive light. Although I share a huge amount of my son’s life, I try to keep my personal life private. It may shock some of you to know  that I have had to source many organisations that help and support single parents during my horrendous  time of vulnerability. It may shock some of you to know that I was summoned to court as soon as my Chemotherapy and Radiotherapy were completed regarding disagreements in Child Arrangements. And after 2 years of non-cancer related hell,  for the third time in two years I have to attend Mediation Services once again. I will just say that having cancer is the SECOND worse thing that has ever happened to me.

I blog so that my son knows no matter what, I got up and lived. I got up and made the best out of a bad

situation. I blog because it can be very daunting being a single parent. It can be overwhelming to have the sole responsibility of such a precious little life. I blog because I want Rory to remember our incredible happy times together. I blog because I want him to have memories of his mummy. I will never take life for granted.

Once up to date on all of our travels, adventures and experiences, I am planning on writing a series of Children’s books! So these are the reasons I share my blogs. Please feel free to share also!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Why I Blog ………

  1. What a wonderful reason to blog, Debbie! It’s great you’re documenting your life with your son, so cool for him to have when he gets older. We started our blog when we traveled for 10 months around SEA in 2015. Our little one was 1,5 when we left, so it’s a great way for him to ‘remember’. Also we want to inspire other families with young kids to travel, by showing them that’s it’s not as difficult as they might think. #TuesdayTreasures

    Like

  2. I love your photos, you are beautiful with and without hair and I’m sure Rory will see that. You have some lovely reasons to blog but I’m so sorry that you have had to go through so much pain xx #TuesdayTreasures

    Like

  3. Rory is an incredibly lucky boy, what an amazing mama he has ! You can see the love you both share in those beautiful photo’s. Thank you for linking up with #TuesdayTreasures

    Like

  4. Wow you are such a brave woman… I think you are amazing and so glad you do blog! Thanks for joining in with #TuesdayTreasures, don’t forget to add the linky image (you can get the code from the weekly posts) under your post x

    Like

Leave a Reply

