Legoland Lottery!

Who goes to Legoland on a Bank Holiday?! My 4 year old son and I and the rest of the world, that’s who!

My sons most favourite things are Lego and Star Wars. So you can imagine my delight at seeing an advertisement for a Star Wars theme, Bank Holiday bonanza at Legoland! We just had to go.

Unfortunately, much to my despair at this discrimination, single parent families do not qualify for the “kids go free” deals etc. and all hotel deals were based on the 2 adults/2 children combination. Not to be defeated, I sourced a 2 for 1 entry discounted ticket off a cereal box which was going to save me in the region of £50 so I couldn’t complain! I would have liked nothing more than to give my little boy the experience of staying at the Legoland Resort Hotel but how can anyone, unless money is no object, justify the extortionate cost of staying there. I will never forget driving past this amazing colourful landmark en route to the carpark with Rory shouting “please please please can we stay there mummy”. “When we win the lottery honey!”

Whilst recovering from Cancer, I needed our hotel destination to be as close to the resort as possible as I knew travelling the 130 miles followed by a full day of walking/exploring Legoland would take its toll on my energy levels. We stayed at The Holiday Inn Slough which was 6 miles away from the park. It was pleasant enough and served its purpose well.

On trips like this where the car parks are large and a distance from the resort entrance, I sometimes wish I had another pair of hands! What if I forget something? There would be no way I would be able to return to the car with Rory, so I took a pushchair and loaded it with snacks, essential items, clothes and coats for all weather conditions!

Then we have to queue with the other thousands of crazy people who have turned up for this exciting event!. Even though the queues moved on at a steady pace, I was dreading Rory saying he needed the toilet. Who would look after our belongings? How would we find our place  in the queue again? We absolutely cannot go to the toilet or move from our place and that is that! 45 minutes later and a very frustrated mummy and Rory, we were finally in! This was just the beginning and I felt that we had been there all day already! Star Wars characters paraded around in front of us and Rory hid!

One of the first things Rory wanted to do was go on a Fire engine/hose pumping activity. Pushchair parked we let the queuing commence again! This was a very slow moving queue and after another 30 minutes we had both had enough and decided to come back later. Off we went to the Driving school! Another 30 minutes in this queue, we were at the front and Rory’s turn was next! “I’m afraid you have to be 6 to go on this ride”. I could feel the tears welling up. Rory was distraught. What a crap mother am I????

We queue jumped to the toddler driving school and a small piece of my child’s happiness was restored. I really didn’t know how I was going to get through the day. My stress levels were sky high. This was not how I thought this magical experience would go. I was in a bit of a state.

Then out of nowhere, my fairy godmother arrived! Our very special friends Wendy and Libby arrived last minute. They joined us with fun, excitement, knowledge of the park, support for me and a queue jumping vibrating machine! I have never been so pleased to see our friends. Wendy magically took all of the stress away from me and organised all of the rides that Rory would enjoy. It was because of these two beautiful people that my son had an amazing time and asks to go back. When we win the lottery!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Legoland Lottery!

  1. I remember going to Legoland once when I was kid with my auntie, nan and cousins. The only thing I really remember is queuing up for ages to go on the rides and not going on many rides! It’d be great to go back as an adult and bring the girls with me. Loving your photos by the way! Thanks for linking up to #ThatFridayLinky

    Like

  2. Ahhh we loved Legoland when we went, we were fairly lucky with the queues though and checked what Alfie could go on first before queuing up to avoid disappointment but luckily could go on most things. Glad you managed to have a good day though after all. Popping over from #ThatFridayLinky

    Like

  3. I have never been to Legoland so can’t wait for the girls to ask they want to go looks like you had great fun Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    Like

Leave a Reply

